I accidentally deleted a VM. What should i do

  • 1 April 2021
  • 0 replies
  • 326 views

Userlevel 2
Badge +2
  • Nutanix Employee
  • 10 replies

Recycle bin feature is available from AOS 5.18 onwards. With help from Nutanix Support, the recycle bin tool helps you to restore deleted storage entities (guest VMs and volume group vDisks) and manage the recycle bin itself.

After you delete a guest VM, the configuration file and disk remain in the recycle bin for up to 24 hours. After 24 hours, these files are deleted. The files are deleted in less than 24 hours if your cluster is unable to maintain sufficient free disk space.

Recycle Bin Limitations and Guidelines

  • The recycle bin stores vDisk and configuration data for up to 24 hours. After 24 hours, these files are deleted. The files are deleted in less than 24 hours if your cluster is unable to maintain sufficient free disk space.

  • Recycle bin is not supported on storage containers where metro availability is enabled.

  • Recycle bin is not available for recovering protection domain snapshots.

You can disable and enable the recycle bin or clear its contents. As a default, the recycle bin is enabled and retains its contents for up to 24 hours, unless the cluster free storage space reaches critical thresholds

 

For more information on Recycle bin please refer

Recycle Bin

AOS 5.18 Release notes


This topic has been closed for comments