Registered your Prism Element to a Prism Central, but now want to unregister the PE from the Prism Central and confused regarding the steps!
Why would anyone like to unregister a cluster?
The following are the reasons when you might want to unregister a cluster from prism central and perform a clean-up.
- Prism Central functionality is being evaluated but you do not plan to use the functionality.
- You manage your cluster or clusters using a different Prism Central instance.
- The Prism Central that your cluster was previously registered to has been destroyed or decommissioned.
Unregistering a cluster through Prism GUI is no longer available and now you’ll be wondering the “WHY SO??”
Well we all make mistakes and accidentally unregistering a cluster can be a big risk, so we need to mitigate the risk
So what’s the process to unregister a cluster?
Before answering the question, let’s take note of one point
After the force cleanup process mentioned in the below mentioned KB is followed, all PC-PE registration information will be lost. Any configuration of the PE (Prism Element) cluster on Prism Central will also be lost permanently and cannot be recovered.
Now that you are aware of the risks and still want to continue with unregistering
Go through the following document
KB – 4944
Have doubts regarding the process?
Drop a comment below and let us start a discussion