Errormessage about disabled VM autostartup & vSphere HA cluster
We are busy building a Nutanix 184.108.40.206 infrastructure with vSphere 5.5. We have six nodes in two blocks, and the design consists of 2 Nutanix clusters with each its own vSphere cluster. HA is enabled on each cluster.
We are getting an error on both Nutanix clusters in PRISM UI:
Virtual Machine auto start is disabled on the hypervisor of Controller VM <CVM IP>
Nutanix best practices recommend to enable "Start and Stop Virtual Machines with the system" on each host, and move the Nutanix CVM startup to Automatic startup. But, according to This VMware KB the automatic startup feature is disabled when moving an ESXi host in an HA enabled cluster. Just like the error message says.
Is this expected behavior? Can this error message be disabled because it is just not valid in combination with VMware HA enabled clusters? Or is this still a configuration error?
Re: Errormessage about disabled VM autostartup & vSphere HA cluster
When Vcenter does a reconfigure of Vmware HA the setting get's disabled everytime
so the warning will return.
Also, in Vsphere 5.5 webclient I can't even active automatic startup anymore when HA is enabled.
In the 5.5 manual (Manual) you will find this line
"The Virtual Machine Startup and Shutdown (automatic startup) feature is disabled for all virtual machines residing on hosts that are in a vSphere HA cluster. Automatic startup is not supported with vSphere HA."
I opened a case for this at Nutanix and they gave these "workarounds"
We can disable HA, enable the auto-start and then enable HA back again, or we can (besides that) place an script in the ESXi hosts to make sure that our VM is auto-powered up upon reboot.
In step 3 (Configure the vSphere host) you can find the instructions on how to apply the script to make sure the CVM is powered on automatically on every reboot. In regards to those steps, please be aware of the fact you don't need to reboot the ESXi host to apply the configuration.
As long as you change the script and save the configuration, it should work upon reboot.
You can always do a reboot just to make sure though.